Satori 2021 Grand Prize Winners List

Strings Group

The grand prize winner in each category was independently selected by three judges. If there was disagreement among all three judges, a separate review panel cast their votes on the judges’ selections. Whoever received the most votes became the final winner.

Special Award:  Because of the high competition level in string groups,  other than the  Judges’ Distinction Award, several additional awards have been handed  out  to highlight different aspects of our contestant’s performances.

For all Grand and Special Award, please contact Edmund Wu at to arrange the trophy pickup or shipment.

Strings age group 9 and under:

Grand (Schoenfeld Award – sponsored by Schoenfeld International Music Society)

Cayla Kim — Scene de Ballet by Charles de Beriot

Achievement in Excellence Award:

Yugo MaedaTambourin Chinois by Fritz Kreisler

Judges’ Distinction Award:

Lea Shin — Elfintanz by Ezra Jenkinson


Strings age group 10-12:

Grand (Schoenfeld Award – sponsored by Schoenfeld International Music Society)

Collin Gee — Cello Concerto in c minor by J.C. Bach

Judges’ Distinction Award:

Hyunjin An — Zigeunerweisen by Pablo de Sarasate
Aaron Liu — Symphonie Espagnole Op.21 mvt.1 by Edouard Lalo
Natalie Xu — Violin Concerto In G Major Hob.VIIa/4 by Franz Joseph Haydn


Strings age group 13-15:

Grand (Schoenfeld Award – sponsored by Schoenfeld International Music Society)

Rubi Lee — Violin Concerto No.3 in b minor by Camille Saint Saens

Judges’ Distinction Award:

Irene Choung — Variations on a Theme of Rossini H.290 by Bohuslav Martinu
Jessica Hong — Concerto in e minor Op.64 mvt. 3 by Felix Mendelssohn
Kailey Yun — Violin Concerto No.2 Op.22 mvt. 3 by Henri Wieniawski


Strings age group 16-19:

Grand (JingYu’s Young Virtuoso Scholarship — sponsored by Ms. Jing Yu)

Jaemin Song — Chaconne in g minor by Tomaso Antonio Vitali

Judges’ Distinction Award:

Evan Chan — Violin Concerto d minor Op.47 mvt. 3 by Jean Sibelius


Ensemble age group 16-19:

Grand (Soriel Music Ensemble Award — sponsored by Soriel Music Academy)

Charles G Yang
Edelweiss Pak
Madeleine Kim — Requiem Op.66 by David Popper